The shoe situation

I posted the story of how I chose my new shoes the other day.

They’re so pretty, and felt super comfy in the store.

Then I went for a walk in them.

I panicked almost all day, and decided I was going to return them and pick another pair of shoes.

Marcus convinced me to try them out for a run. I have 2 weeks to return them so I can try a couple of runs and see how they go.

So, off to the gym for a treadmill run.

shoes

The first km and a bit was sore. Not as sore as my walk to the dairy the day before, but sore all the same.

After the bathroom stop, the pain eased off. I started feeling really good, and I really appreciated the extra bounce in the forefoot.

I’ve decided to give the shoes another go. Everything I read says shoes should be comfy from day 1, and while they need a little breaking in, they should never be painful. In saying that, maybe the ouchy while I was walking was something else. I’ll give it 1 more run, and if that doen’t work out, I’ll return them on the weekend and pick something else.

I’m not 100% sure what to pick, but I think I’ll look at doing some research!

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “The shoe situation

  1. never2late4 March 1, 2013 at 10:28 am Reply

    I’m inclined to go with the ‘they should be comfy from day 1 theory’.
    Hope you find something comfy soon

    • lmfbs March 1, 2013 at 11:52 am Reply

      Thanks! Me too. I’m pretty sad considering how comfy they were in the store. If I do return them, I’ll do LOTS more walking around before I buy a replacement pair!

Leave a Reply

